Yahoo Dictionary Web Search

  1. Wind·ward Is·lands
    IPA[ˈˌwin(d)wərd ˈīlən(d)z]
    • 1. a group of islands in the eastern Caribbean Sea that constitute the southern part of the Lesser Antilles. They include Martinique, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Grenada. Their name refers to their position further upwind, in terms of the prevailing southeastern winds, than the Leeward Islands.

    • 2. an island group in the eastern Society Islands in French Polynesia that include Moorea and Tahiti.